Have you found yourself ready to start a project but not sure where to go? It can sometimes be a challenge to find the best encyclopedia or dictionary to use for background information. The extensive list of research databases provided by VMI and VIVA (the Virtual Library of Virginia) can be overwhelming.

is a resource on the Preston Library Website that can help you to identify the important resources for your field of study. Librarians have also recently chosen some essential sources, labeled “key resources” in each field. A search for sources can be limited to print, electronic, and full-text, to create a customized study guide.
Stop by the reference desk or contact a librarian if you have questions about using SourceFinder.

RefWorks can be a real time-saver and big help in your research. It is a useful and versatile bibliographic management software available free through the Preston Library website. Once you’re registered (it only takes a few minutes), you will be able to use RefWorks to organize your references in a personal database accessible anywhere from the Web. It will even generate a bibliography or works cited list, formatted in the style that you choose.
Some features of RefWorks:
- Export citations directly from many of the Preston Library databases
- Share references for a group project – there’s no limit to the number of accounts created
- Create folders to organize your research
- Import references from a documents
- Search your references
- Format a bibliography, choosing from hundreds of output styles including several VMI-specific styles
RefWorks has recently added lifelong account access and a mobile phone interface, so if you’ve got a mobile phone, smart phone or PDA, you can use RefWorks there, too.
Please stop by the reference desk if you want help registering for RefWorks or if you have any questions or send us an email at ReferenceDesk@vmi.edu

Try out the brand new database, NewsBank Access World News.
Search full-text newspapers – current and archived! Find information about events, issues, people, businesses, and topics of your choice. Explore local, state, national and international news sources such as newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires, news blogs, news web-only content and video.
The URL is http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=AWNB&s_sources=location&d_place=United%20States
Since the database is presently in beta testing at VMI, you have the opportunity to provide the publisher, NewsBank, and the library with feedback about content and access.
Let us know if we should keep this database once it is available for purchase!
Summer vacation is here which means that cadets and faculty are traveling, studying and researching all over the world.
Living in a Lexington apartment instead of Barracks?
Researching at an archive in Germany?
Still want access to all of our great databases?
You got it! [click to continue…]